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Is it Better to Rent or Own?
Why get Pre-Approved first?
Which is a better choice: Fixed Loan or an ARM?
How to avoid paying Private Mortgage Insurance?
What is "Loan to Value" (LTV)?
How to Use Points to Your Advantage?
How to Manage Closing Costs?
What is a FICO Credit Score?
How to Boost your Fico Credit Score?
What is an Interest-Only Mortgage?


Is it Better to Rent or Own?
A good way to answer this question is to find out all the ways homeownership can affect your life.

Advantages:

  • Financial benefits:
    • The most important financial benefit is that your wealth increases as your home appreciates and as you pay down your loan.
    • You can write off mortgage interest that you pay from your taxes.
    • Mortgage payments can often be comparable to rent payments, depending on the current market.
  • Social benefits:
    • Homeowners are often more involved in their community and work together for better schools and less crime.
  • Personal benefits
    • The pride, satisfaction, and independence of being a homeowner.
    • Control over decorating or expanding the house according to your vision for providing a permanent place where your family can live and grow.

Disadvantages:

  • Loss of Flexibility: Selling a home takes some time, so you may not be able to move or change jobs quickly. The main advantage of renting is flexibility and freedom.
  • Maintenance: A home requires work, time, and money to keep it in good condition.
  • Responsibility: Renters generally need to think only about paying the rent on time because the landlord takes care of turning the water on, fixing the roof, planning for a storm, etc. However, when you own a home, you are in charge of everything, including utilities, lawn care, and any repairs or improvements.

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Why Get Pre-Approved First?
Looking for a home without being pre-approved is often the costliest mistake homebuyers make. As a potential buyer of a home you are often competing with other buyers when putting in an offer.

Being pre-approved:

  • Increases your chances of your offer being accepted, especially in hotter markets.
  • Gives you a baseline buying price so you know what you can afford (or at least what a lender is willing to lend to you).

Many buyers make an offer on a home they cannot qualify for because they make the mistake of not going through the pre-approval process up front.

Please fill out a pre-approval application to start the process. It takes about 5 minutes and there is no cost or obligation in doing so. We should be able to have a pre-approval letter for you to take to your agent or home seller within 24 hours.


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Which is a better choice, a Fixed Loan or an Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM)?
This depends mainly on how long you intend to keep your mortgage. Rates on ARM’s are often lower than those of Fixed Rate Mortgages at the outset, but they carry the risk of rates rising over time.

Generally, If you know you will only be in the property for a few years, an ARM would be recommended. If you are unsure about how long you will have the loan or be in the property, a Fixed Rate Mortgage is most likely the best option.


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How to Avoid Paying Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)?
PMI is an extra fee that lenders charge to offset their higher risk when a loan amount is greater than 80% of the property value. In most cases, the lender will allow cancellation of the PMI once the borrower has paid down 20% of the loan.

There are several ways to avoid PMI including splitting your financing up into two loans and there is also a program called Lender Paid Mortgage Insurance or LPMI where in exchange for a higher rate the lender will pay your monthly PMI. Please ask your consultant to review the advantages and disadvantages of each of these programs.


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What is "Loan to Value" (LTV)?
LTV is the ratio of the amount of your loan compared to the value of your purchased home. For example, if your home is worth $100,000 and your loan is $80,000, your LTV is 80%. As you pay off your loan gradually, the LTV will go down.


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How to Use Points to Your Advantage?

Points or Discount Points are an amount that a borrower may choose to pay out-of-pocket to decrease their interest rate. This could be a great way for those who are certain to stay in a loan for a long time to save money.

The best way to decide whether to pay points or not is to do a break-even analysis:

  1. Start with the amount that a point will cost you. Our example: 1 point = $1000 on a $100,000 loan.
  2. Compute the amount of monthly savings you will have as a result of the lower interest rate. For this example let’s say you would save $50 per month after having paid 1 point up front. (Use our mortgage calculator to figure out monthly payment amounts based on loan, taxes, and interest).
  3. Divide the cost of the point by the monthly savings to get your break-even point. In our example, divide $1000 by $50 to get a break-even time of 20 months.
  4. The break-even time tells you how long it will take for your initial investment to pay off. In our example, if you will have the loan for more than 20 months, it makes sense to pay 1 point. You will save $50 a month or $600 a year after month 20, or just under two years.

We would be glad to discuss the additional advantages and disadvantages of paying points with you. Please contact one of our consultants today for a no cost, no obligation consultation


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How to Manage Closing Costs?

These are the costs associated with the funding of the mortgage, commonly between 3% and 6% of the loan amount. They include:

  • Title Fees
  • Lender and Broker Fees
  • County and State Transfer and Recordation Taxes
  • Appraisal Fees.

For a $100,000 loan, closing fees could be $3000-$6000. You can choose to include these in the loan on purchases and refinances, or you may choose to pay out of pocket.

(We offer 100% financing programs and allow you to finance up to 6% of your loan amount for closing costs in certain cases).


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What is a FICO Credit Score?
This is a credit score used by lenders to determine your credit worthiness and risk. The scores range from 350-850. The higher your score, the less risky you are in the eyes of the lender.

However we have many programs that do not penalize borrowers for distressed credit as long as they meet minimum benchmarks. For example, 98.5% LTV Financing is available for borrowers with at least a 580 (middle) FICO score.

To qualify for the best programs a FICO score of 720 or above is usually required. 


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How to Boost Your FICO Credit Score?
First of all, to find out your FICO score you can contact any of our loan consultants directly to access your credit file. We will immediately provide you with a free copy of your report from all three bureaus. You may also go to www.AnnualCreditReport.com to get a free report, though scores are not included.

Once you know your score, you can follow these tips to improve your credit rating:

1. Pay your bills on time. Delinquent payments have a major negative impact on your score, so the longer you pay your bills on time, the better your score will be. The bottom line is if you are ever going to be late, make sure you are not more than 30 days late.

2. Keep balances low on credit cards. High outstanding debt will affect your score. Try to keep balances on your credit cards below 50% of your available credit.

3. Do not open multiple new credit card accounts. New accounts lower your average account age, which could lower your credit score. Retail stores often offer a discount on purchases for opening an account with their store credit card. Resist the temptation.

4. Have credit cards, but manage credit cards responsibly. In general, having these accounts will raise your score. Someone with no credit cards tends to be a higher risk than someone with cards who manages them responsibly.

5.Understand that closing an account does not make it go away. A closed account still reports to the credit bureaus and continues to affect your score.

We can help you repair any credit issues by giving you a thorough credit assessment at the time of your application at no cost along with a free copy of your Tri-merge credit report.


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What is an Interest-only Mortgage?

Interest-only mortgages are getting a lot of attention these days due to their low payments but they are not for everybody. Essentially, they allow a borrower to defer payment of the principal of the loan for 5-10 years, and only pay interest in that period, which means very low minimum payments.

Advantages:

Low initial monthly payments can give a buyer more buying power to purchase a higher priced home than they could otherwise have afforded.

The borrower can choose the amount they wish to pay each month as long as it is above the minimum requirement. Any amount over the minimum goes directly toward the principal. This allows a borrower to have much more flexibility over monthly payments early-on in the loan period.


Disadvantages:

After the 5-10 year interest-only period the minimum payment will increase dramatically. This occurs when the loan converts to a regularly amortized period, typically 20 or 25 years, and the monthly payments become calculated based on the new loan balance.

This kind of loan is generally more expensive in the long-term, and the expense increases with the more time that the borrower takes to pay down the principal. However, the flexibility can be worth the cost for some borrowers - it all depends on your individual needs and goals.

If you are considering an Interest-only mortgage it is very important to discuss the advantages and disadvantages with your Mortgage Consultant.
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